Celebrating our staff and volunteers

By Jenn Hughes on September 28, 2023

Our annual celebration event is an opportunity to recognise the hard work and commitment of our teams, and to celebrate the milestones of long-service staff and volunteers.

This year we were delighted that the event could take place in person, for the first time since the pandemic, at our Little Hulton hospice.

As well as celebrating the dedication of our long-serving staff and volunteers, we announced the exceptional winners of this year’s Chair awards yesterday. Jackie Oldham and Rachel McMillan co-hosted the event.

I’m really excited that it’s the first time in three years we’re been able to do this face to face. This is a true celebration of everything our staff and volunteers do, and it makes me so proud to be part of that team. From the bottom of my heart, thank you. We’ve been here 52 for years, and it’s important to celebrate our history. I look back and think about the people who made St Ann’s happen, like our founder Dr Moya Cole. I’m thankful for our pioneers, all of the people in this room and all of our all colleagues – we can set the direction for the future and help St Ann’s to thrive for another 52 years. Rachel McMillan, Chief Executive
It’s humbling to see everyone here today and hear about the fantastic contributions to the hospice. I’m here on behalf of the Board of Trustees. It was extremely difficult to decide who the awards should go to; the contributions throughout have been phenomenal. On behalf of board, we want to thank you all for your major contribution to the hospice; we couldn’t do it without you. By working together, we achieve really great things. Jackie Oldham, Chair of the Board of Trustees

And the winners are…

Jackie Oldham, Chair of the Board of Trustees, awarded the following staff members and teams with the Chair Awards for their amazing achievements and exemplifying the Values of St Ann’s Hospice in their work every day.

People matter

  • This award recognises an individual who consistently puts people at the centre of everything they do. They treat everyone with kindness and compassion, they value and celebrate diversity; recognising everyone as an individual.

Lisa Wong, Lymphoedema Assistant Practitioner

Deborah Connolly, Housekeeping (Heald Green)

Lead and learn

  • This award recognises someone who is always learning to inform and shape the hospice or hospice sector. This might be through education, training or research. They lead by example, share best practice, making advances and pioneering new approaches.

Rebecca Sarbutts, Data Protection Officer and Data Systems Manager

Dr Lesley Henson and Kath Lamb – Quality Improvement project

Bold and brave

  • The winner of this award recognises the need to grow for the future, not settle. They’re not afraid to do things differently, get creative, challenge themselves and the status quo. They’re ambitious in their aims, accountable for their actions and learn from their experiences and successes.

Gayle Shaw, Corporate Fundraiser

Together we are stronger

  • This award is for an individual or collection of individuals who work collaboratively with supporters, partners or the community. They have a bigger impact working together than they could do alone. They think beyond traditional boundaries to make sure we’re here for our communities in years to come.

The Trading Company – Events organisation

Inpatient Unit Ward Sisters Lynsey Ayers, Hayley Beswick, Jen Andrusjak, Suzy Vale and Nic Erhardt

Volunteer Special Recognition Award

  • This award recognises and celebrates the outstanding contribution volunteers make to the hospice. Every day volunteers help us achieve our purpose of providing excellent care. This award is one of the ways we recognise volunteers who go above and beyond to create even better services.

Jenny Caunt, volunteer in the Practice Development Centre


Long service awards – Staff

30 years

Diane Smallman, Little Hulton Inpatient Unit

20 years

Lesley Jackson, Clinical Services Administration (HG)

10 years

Joanne Laidlaw, Hospice at Home
Donna Riva Burdaky, LH Housekeeping
Rachel Billson, Clinical Specialist Palliative Care Team
Gill Turnpenney , Executive Office

Long service awards – Volunteers

40 years

Ann Farthing

35 years

Gill Lyon and Fran Nelson

25 years

Margaret Tait

20 years

Marion Ball, Christine Da Forno and Anne McFarlane

15 years

Alan Bowker, Sylvia Grant, Anne Hannah, Ian Hayes, Beryl Hilton, Sandra Kirk, Pamela Lilker, Barbara Mellish, Rebekah Mottershead, Nicola Norris, Catherine Stephenson, Sue Sutton

10 years

Gail Abedi, Christine Barlow, Alison Bettles, Clive Douglas Bettles, Susan Conlon, Ann Cox, Janet Ellis, Jill Fitzgerald, Breda Johnson, Lorraine Livesey, Steve Lloyd, Patricia Anne Lockey, Joe Madden, Nuala McNorton, Jackie Rogers, Pat Rudge, Peter Charles Sant, Ruth Satinoff, Jennifer Vaughan, Gwyneth Viney, Mike Viney, Gaynor Whiteside, Valerie Wilson, Pamela Wolstenholme

5 years

Frances Ansell, Judith Anthony, Jennifer Armshaw, Mariam Azhar, Lynne Barratt, Maria Bartley, Paul Bate, Lucy Blackburn, Jean Coles, Mary Connery, Beth Crowcroft, Ryan Darcy, Catherine Davies, Lea Anne Done-Jackson, Nicola Done-Orrell, Donna Eastwood, Brenda Entwistle, Yvonne Fitzgerald, Marjorie Fletcher, Peter Frank, Robert Gregg, Tina Hamby, Joan Hargreaves, Joyce Lynda Lawrence, Shelagh Lochery, Jeffrey Longson, John Moss, Pamela Mottershead, Barbara Murray, Jamie Murray, Melanie Oliver, Elaine Pratt, Caroline Pressman, Christine Reed, Eileen Richards, Gwyneth Roper, Jeanette Sayle, Marilyn Snell, Susan Margaret Thomas, Chloe Tsang, Frances Walker, Irene Wilczynska